Hana-Hana, by Teppei

After my not-so-recent indulgence at Sushi Sho in Tokyo (すし匠) for their AMAZING limited lunch set Bara-Chirashi Don (only 20 sets a day),  I was really looking forward to finding a similar fix in Singapore.

Much has been said about the Omakase by Teppei, and their infamous long queues.  Well, I’m not a fan of queues and was quite pleased to find out there is a quick & easy lunch option.

Counter Seating at Hana Hana

Counter Seating at Hana Hana. Nice and cosy.

Arriving here on a Saturday afternoon at 1pm was a lovely surprise of having being able to be seated immediately, and not having to wait long for service. I looked around and my “neighbours” were indulging in Bara-Chirashi Don … a good sign….?

Yummy sides dishes.

Yummy sides dishes at the counter

Enjoying the 3 different appetizers whilst waiting for the main meal. I liked the shoots and the pickles. Very “home-made” feel, although some pieces of the shoots was too fibrous to ingest.

Hana Hana Barachirashi

Hana Hana Barachirashi

Finally the Pièce de résistance – Bara Chirashi Don ($17.90)

Salon, tuna, squid, ikura, scallop and…FRESHLY GRATED WASABI…!  It was such a surprise to have fresh wasabi at the price of this don (especially after considering the prime location and high labor costs here).

The bowl came out rather warm from the hot rice, something different from what I had expected from past experiences, but nonetheless it was a nice change. The sashimi was cut into generous chunky pieces, the Ikura was lovely… the sweetness reminded me of those I had a small corner diner in Otaru, Hokkaido.  Overall, it give me the feeling of “home”.

Would I come back again for the Bara Chirashi don? I am not so sure. I have todate only tried 1 other Chirashi don in Singapore (Sumiya at Orchard Central), and they are both nice, but different. In my mind, the Sushi Sho version  (about S$20) has spoilt me for life, and it would be unfair to make any comparisons here in Singapore.  I am curious though, about the yakitori in the evening. I miss that from Tokyo, and it would be interesting to see how this compares.

My Rating : 7.10

Address 1 Tras Link #01-17 Orchid Hotel Singapore 078867

Opening Hours 1200 to 1430hrs, 1800 to 2230hrs

About singaporeaneats

Office worker by day. Makan Heroine by night. Follow me on Instagram, Twitter & FB @singaporeaneats for my latest food adventures!
This entry was posted in Barachirashi, Japanese food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

